[Beowulf] CFP: APPT 2005 (deadline: May 1, 2005)

Roy S.C. Ho scho at cs.hku.hk
Sun Apr 24 01:46:08 PDT 2005

Please accept our apology if you receive multiple copies of this CFP.

Submission Deadline: 1 May 2005

Call For Paper

Sixth International Workshop on Advanced Parallel
Processing Technologies (APPT 2005)
27-28 Oct. 2005, Hong Kong, China

APPT is a biennial workshop on parallel and distributed
processing. Its scope covers all aspects of parallel
and distributed computing technologies, including
architectures, software systems and tools, algorithms,
and applications. APPT was originated from
collaborations by researchers from China and Germany
and has evolved to be an international workshop. The
past five workshops were held in Beijing, Koblenz,
Changsha, Illmenau, and Xiamen, respectively. APPT'05
will be the sixth in the series. Following the success
of the last five workshops, APPT'05 provides a forum
for scientists and engineers in academia and industry
to exchange and discuss their experiences, new ideas,
and results about research in the areas related to
parallel and distributed processing

Papers are solicited. Topics of particular interest
include, but are not limited to :
-Parallel / Distributed System Architectures
-Advanced Microprocessor Architecture,
-Middleware, Software Tools and Environments
-Parallelizing Compilers,
-Software Engineering issues
-Interconnection Networks
-Network Protocols,
-Task Scheduling and Load Balancing
-Grid Computing, Cluster Computing, Peer-to-Peer
-Internet & Web computing
-Pervasive and Mobile Computing
-Security in networks and distributed systems
-Fault tolerance and dependability
-Image Generation and Processing: Rendering
Techniques, Virtual Reality, Visualization, Graphic
Processing, etc

Prospective authors are invited to submit a full paper
in English (should not exceed 10 pages (12 pt) in
length) presenting original and unpublished research
results and experience. Papers will be selected based
on their originality, timeliness, significance,
relevance, and clarity of presentation. Papers must be
submitted in PDF (preferably) or Postscript that is
interpretable by Ghostscript. Submissions will be
carried out electronically on the Web via a link found
at the conference web page

Submissions imply the willingness of at least one
author to register, attend the conference, and present
the paper. There will be two best student paper awards
to recognise distinguished student research.

The proceedings of the symposium will be published in
Springer*s Lecture Notes in Computer Science (Pending).

Important Dates:
Paper submission:            1 May 2005
Acceptance notification:     1 July  2005
Camera-ready due:            15 July 2005
APPT*05 workshop:            27-28 Oct 2005

Sponsored by
Sponsored by Architecture Professional Committee of China Computer Federation.
Organized by Department of Computing, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Supported by IEEE HK, ACM HK


General Chair
Xingming Zhou,
 Member of Chinese Academy of Science. National Lab
 for Parallel and Distributed Processing, China

Vice General Co-Chairs
 Xiaodong Zhang, College of William and Mary, USA
 David A. Bader, Univ. of New Mexico, USA,

Program Co-Chairs
 Jiannong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic Univ, H.K.
 Wolfgang Nejdl, Univ. of Hannover, Germany

Publicity Chair
Cho-Li Wang, Univ. of Hong Kong, H.K.

Publication Chair
Laruence T. Yang,

Local Organisation Chair
Allan K.Y. Wong, H.K. PloyU, H.K.

Finance / Registration Chair
Ming Xu, National Lab for Parallel and Distributed Processing, China

Srinivas Aluru, Iowa State University, USA
Jose Nelson Amaral, University of Alberta, Canada
Nancy Amato, Texas A&M University, USA
Wentong Cai, Nanyang Technological Univ. Singapore
Y. K. Chan, City Univ. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
John Feo, Cray Inc., USA
Tarek El-Ghazawi, George Washington University, USA
Ananth Grama, Purdue University, USA
Binxing Fang, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
Guang Gao, University of Delaware, USA
Manfred Hauswirth, EPFL, Switzerland
Bruce Hendrickson, Sandia National Lab., USA
Zhenzhou Ji, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
Mehdi Jazayeri, Technical University of Vienna, Austria
Ashfaq Khokhar, University of Illinois, Chicago, USA
Ajay Kshemkalyani, Univ. of Illinois, Chicago, USA
Xiaoming Li, Peking University, China
Francis Lau, University of Hong Kong, China
Xinsong Liu, Electronical Sciences University, China
Yunhao Liu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China
Xinda Lu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Siwei Luo, Northern Jiao Tong University, China
Beth Plale, Indiana University, USA
Bernhard Plattner, Swiss Federal Institute of Tech., Switzerland
Sartaj Sahni, University of Florida, USA
Nahid Shahmehri, Link?pings universitet, Sweden
Chengzheng Sun, Griffith University, Australia
Zhimin Tang, Institute of Computing, CAS, China
Bernard Traversat, Sun Microsystems
Peter Triantafillou, University of Patras, Greece
Lars Wolf, Tech. Universit?t Braunschweig, Germany
Jie Wu, Florida Atlantic University, USA
Li Xiao, Michigan State Univ, USA
Cheng-Zhong Xu, Wayne State University, USA
Weimin Zheng, Tsinghua University, China

More information about the Beowulf mailing list